p5.js

p5.js symbol

Project found here.

The symbol I chose to create for this assignment was a doodle of my dog’s face that I draw often. There really is no profound meaning behind this symbol in terms of my community or family – it simply represents the fact that the love I have for my dog has grown in 2020. He’s now a senior in terms of age and has been epileptic for some time. However, right when COVID-19 came to New York in March, he was hospitalized for kidney failure due to complications with his seizure medication and put on a feeding tube, he was then also diagnosed for dementia and has had multiple strokes. So this year, amidst all the chaos that was the pandemic, lockdowns, and BLM protests, I was rushing to the veterinary ER on a weekly basis. Caring for him through the medical complications and spending more time with him at the end stages of his life has been a defining moment for me, especially during this crazy year, and that’s what this symbol represents. In terms of coding, I simplified the shapes into circles (eyes, face), ellipses (ears, nose), and arcs. The most challenging part was the rotation of the ears to be placed at a diagonal. I’m still not sure of the exact mechanism of the rotate function even with the help of the reference page, but was able to position the ears to where I wanted it through trial and error.

Leave a comment