Microbit

Doggy Shake Counter

I decided to try out this step counter microbit activity and instead of walking around with it myself, I attached it to my dog to measure his movements, particularly when he does his doggy shakes. I included a reset button in my code but otherwise stuck to the original activity. I do wish the accelerometer was slightly more sensitive as my dog is a senior, 4 lb dog and his movements are just not big or fast enough to be easily detected. From my brief research, I do think there are different ways to do that if you use the g-force or acceleration (mg) codes, but I wasn’t too sure how to go about that for this activity. Once I finished coding, I attached the microbit and battery pack to my dog’s harness and made him walk around. I think this exercise was a relative success, other than the fact that my dog was not amused.

Leave a comment